Uncategorized

5 Months = 180 days (But who’s counting?)

This past Tuesday, the 28th, marked 5 months until our wedding. We’ve been engaged for over a year now and have been planning for just about the same amount of time. I’m so excited to see our hard work come to fruition, but at the same time I wish i could stop the clock and live a little longer in our engagement. It’s been such a magical time full of flowing champagne and lavish attention, but it’s also helped us to learn more about each other and ourselves. It taught me about compromise, and really what else is marriage about? (Besides love of course!) It’s easy to get caught up in the crazy bride-to-be part of the planning. The part where The Knot tells you it’s totally normal and acceptable to spend $5,000 on a photographer for one day or for Martha Stewart to dictate the perfect flowers for your day (amounting to more than that photographer). You have to remind yourself (or if you’re lucky like me, your fiance will do that for you!) that the day isn’t about the centerpieces or the favors. It’s about your relationship with each other, the love you share and the future you’re building together. I can’t wait to walk down the aisle with my dad, to stand across from my fiance and recite our vows to each other. I can’t wait to dance with him in front of our family and friends (no matter how awkward it will be) and to see my friends in their bridesmaid dresses. I can’t wait to taste every little thing we planned on that menu (especially the fried oreos with ice cream for dessert!). I can’t wait to have all my family and friends in one room celebrating Ron and myself. I can’t wait to wear my beautiful dress and then swap it for the “Just Married” bathing suit my future sister-in-law, Jen, gave me for the after party. I can’t wait to brunch with my future-in-laws and then spend the day together before heading off to Mexico and the world’s best hotel room. I really can’t wait to spend a whole 8 days with Ron, relaxing in our private pool, lounging on our roof deck, exploring Cancun and trying ever restaurant at our all-inclusive hotel. And I can’t wait to come home and change the signature on my emails to my new last name, something I’ve thought of more times than is normal for an adult I’m sure, although I guess it is the grown-up equivalent to doodling our names in my notebook (too bad I’ve done this too…). As anxious as I am for all of these amazing things to happen, I also want to stay engaged for as long as possible in that special time between single and married, where you are often the center of attention, and can talk about your special day as much as you want. I still have so much to look forward to during the in-between…all of my DIY projects I planned thanks to Pinterest, the bridal shower and bachelorette party (make it good, girls 😉 ), my hair and makeup trials and getting my dress fitted – something that might actually be fun now that I’ve lost 23 pounds and am well on my way to meeting my goal (40). I think a lot of girls dream about getting married, but not necessarily being married, of being a fiance, but not always of being a wife. That might be the part I’m MOST excited about…becoming an official (and legal) member of Ron’s family, of signing my new name, of a new meaning to “wifey.”

ImageNote: our creepy friend & bridesmaid Jill making a cameo in the background. It makes me want to quote Wedding Crashers (“I’ll fiiiiind youuu…”)

Leave a Reply

