Uncategorized

Scheduling Yourself

Because I am clearly lacking structure in my life, I believe it’s important to hold myself to some kind of daily/weekly schedule. Of course, I’ve attempted this before without success, but I’ve found that my failure is only due to my own negligence and disrespect for the schedule. On one of the workout tapes I use from TurboFire, the crazy trainer lady (Chalene) said that you need to schedule yourself for your workout and treat it just like any other appointment: you’re not available during that time. It might seem silly to say you’re going to miss out on social events or schedule anything of importance around your workout (insert any daily task here), but it really is that easy. And just because you’re “busy” during that time doesn’t mean you can’t go out with your friends after or go to the post office the next day. No one else is going to make your schedule a priority except for you.

From now on, I will be scheduling a strength workout for myself in the morning before work with a cardio workout after work. Cleaning night will happen once a week on Wednesdays while the fiance is at work. Monday nights will be for cooking extras for the week (spinach cakes, chick peas, garlic broccoli and whatever other fun sides we find) to make snacking and side dishes infinitely easier. Tuesdays will be our night to just chill…either we’ll go out with friends or stay in and watch Game of Thrones (as I’m only about 6 episodes in to season 1). Thursday mornings are my favorite time of the week. I don’t have to be in to work until 10:30am so usually it allows Ron and I to eat breakfast together. It always feels so luxurious to eat breakfast in bed and talk while ESPN is on in the background. My late day at work also means I’ll be able to get both workouts done in the morning, and I can relax when I get home at 8pm. Friday nights and weekends are for friends, family & relaxation. And laundry when I can fit it in 🙂

If you make yourself and your errands a priority, they won’t fall by the wayside, something I’ve learned the hard way the past few weeks. I can’t wait to get back into a routine and begin to spend more of my free time blogging and reaching for my personal goals. 2012 is a big year and establishing myself will be just as big of an achievement.

 

 

Image credit: Google Images
Leave a Reply

