Pretty Pretty Princess · Soul Searching

The Whole Pie.

So about a month ago, I wrote about my issue with pie face and my new attempt to get it under control. All I have to say as a follow up is HA. I’m not sure who I thought I was trying to start a diet during the holiday season…the time of cookies and peppermint mochas and comfort food. Also the time of NO TIME for me which equals trying to cram food in my face during my 10 minute break at Bucks. Sadly, the pie face has become worse.

Extreme pie face (and vertically challenged) with the girls
Extreme pie face (and vertically challenged) with the girls

I have never had a normal relationship with food. I was an extremely picky eater as a kid. I would make my parents bring pizza into Chinese restaurants whenever they wanted to eat there. My standard dinner consisted of rigatoni with butter and parmesan cheese. You don’t get much plainer than that. I struggled with my weight during middle school and remember a sit-down with my parents where they awkwardly told me I needed to watch what I was eating. 
I could eat whatever I wanted during cheerleading season when I was working out 4 times a week, but during the off season (and since I had quit gymnastics during 6th grade) my weight went up. Enter high school and all-star cheerleading which knows no “off season.” We practiced 4-5 times a week year round and I couldn’t have gained weight if I tried. I ate past almost every night and either pizza, French fries or Ramen noodles for school lunch.

Worst offenders
Worst offenders

Of course that all ended when I went to college, quit cheerleading (they made us do pushups when the football team scored…no thanks) and discovered that less working out meant more time allocated to drinking, yeah! Not so wonderful for my waistline. Still, I didn’t heed my mother’s warnings and ate pasta, pizza, whatever every day. I also discovered jalapeno potato chips which are to this day my best friend and arch nemesis rolled into one.

 
After I dropped out of college, I went through a pretty tough time in my life. I obviously didn’t care about myself at all considering the crap I put my body (and my emotions) through. I was putting all my energies into a relationship with a craptastic guy (and receiving next to nothing back) and drowning my sorrows in bags of chips. For a short time, after bingeing on chips or pasta, I would make myself throw up. It felt better to feel my stomach cleared out because I would literally eat until I felt sick. I don’t know exactly what in my life was missing that I was trying to replace with food, but it never helped. Although I no longer purge after I eat, when I have a bad day, I turn to pasta and chocolate chip cookies to feel better instead of the recommended workout.

 
Since meeting my husband, Ron, we have alternated between eating healthily and a calorie free-for-all. We both like unhealthy food and after dieting for months on end, go off the deep end and gain all the weight back. Before our wedding, I lost 32 pounds. On my 5’0 frame, you can bet that was significant. I swore to myself it would be the last time I had to “diet.” I said I would continue eating healthily after the wedding and working out 3-4 times a week. But it never happened. In fact, I think my Christmas night Just Dance 4 competition with Ron’s uncle and cousin was my first work out since before our wedding.

Dance off!
Dance off!

So now here I am 20 pounds up from my wedding weight (but still 12 down? Tiny success? No, didn’t think so.) and wondering where to go from here. Considering I never knew healthy eating and never had conventional mealtimes thanks to a full schedule (cheerleading and gymnastics 3-4 times a week…each) I don’t even think I know HOW to go about eating healthily when NOT on a diet. You now, maintaining. So far my approach has been all or nothing and clearly it’s not working.

 
So what do you fitness gurus and healthy foodies suggest? From what I know now, I’m thinking everything in moderation and replacing anything possible with a low fat/carb/sodium or whole wheat/grain options. I’m also joining a gym near my work with a friend and will also try to attend workout classes I actually like (hello zumba and hot yoga!), but with a packed schedule and limited budget, that’s about all I got. Maybe that’s all there is? Either way, I could use some advice…whatcha got for me?

Wedding skinnies
Wedding skinnies, where are you?
5 thoughts on “The Whole Pie.

    1. That’s mostly what I do when I’m trying to lose weight; I just don’t know how to find balance in everyday life. I think it’s more mental than anything…need to get in the right mindset! Thanks Kirk 🙂

  1. I use http://www.myfitnesspal.com and the myfitnesspal app to track the food I eat and the exercise I do. It certainly is working for me as I have lost nearly 2 stone so far. The community is very supportive and you can add people on there who will make positive comments when you do well and try to motivate you when you slip – of course the people you add are on the same (or similar) journey to you so you can provide support to them also. Hope this helps. 🙂

    Em

Leave a Reply

