Pretty Pretty Princess · Think Happy Thoughts...

Wakey Wakey

Some  days  Ok MOST days, I don’t leave enough time to get ready in the morning. I get up, use the bathroom and shower (or just wash my face if I showered the night before). I brush my teeth. I HAVE to clean my ears each time I shower or else I feel icky all day. I put eye lotion and face lotion on. I brush my hair and put chapstick on (also a must). Then I usually undergo the daily ritual of getting dressed. Why is getted dressed SUCH an ordeal? You would think after probably 18-19 years of dressing myself, it would be something that had become easy. But no. It never is. I think it’s that I need more clothes (haha). Or possibly because all my clothes are in laundry baskets/stacks on my dresser and I’m too lazy to wear heels?

Anyway, back to the point. After the clothing time suck, I HAVE to eat or at least gather food for the day and that usually only leaves time for hair OR makeup, but not both. Since I would rather not drive to work with a wet head and makeup is much more travel-friendly, I tend to bring my makeup to work and throw it on at my desk. Gone are the days when I spent 30 minutes perfecting my eye makeup before heading to the student center (usually because I took too long and missed my class). My makeup routine is so simple lately, it’s barely even there (but you better hope it is because the alternative is not cute).

 

Still, even dumbed down, I don’t feel like myself without my face on. Foundation is first and, I swear, it makes me feel like a different person. I feel awake and refreshed, ready to actually see people. I could stop there (and sometimes I do shhh) but that also makes people ask if I’m feeling okay thanks to the absence of bronzer. So usually my bare bones minimum also includes a little matte bronzer and my favorite blush, MAC’s Melba. Fancy days also include eyeliner (either pencil or gel or both) and mascara.

It doesn’t matter what I’m wearing, how I’m feeling or whether I’ve had coffee yet, I always feel better post makeup application. I know some people feel awake after breakfast or ONLY after their first or second cup of coffee, but for me it’s foundation. What gets you up in the morning? If you say a morning jog, I’ll go cry myself (back to) sleep. Can you tell my New Year’s resolutions are taking a hit? PS – makeup does not stop me from yawning. Although that could be thanks to my 6am dog walk this morning.

Below I’ve decided to allow these photos to surface for your amusement…which I’ll probably regret. Enjoy!

Teal eyeshadow to match my teal dress obviously! Also, you may notice we're sitting on a toilet. Completely normal.
Teal eyeshadow to match my teal dress obviously! Also, you may notice we’re sitting on a toilet. Completely normal.
New Year's Eve circa 2009
New Year’s Eve circa 2009
Yes. Hello eyeliner.
Yes. I was blonde. Not so well.
Gold eyeshadow up to my brows? Nailed it.
Gold eyeshadow up to my brows? Nailed it.

 

The worst duckface/kissface ever. I had issues.
The worst duckface/kissface ever. I had issues.

DISCLAIMER: These photos were taken during college and while at least partially intoxicated. I believe these facts combined mean I can not be held liable. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

