Friday Faves

Friday Faves

Happy Friday! It’s been a gray and rainy week here, and I’m excited for some sunshine this weekend. It’s supposed to be 90 and sunny tomorrow so that should help to make it feel more like June. I have loved the brief rainstorms here and there this week (as you know), but the constant gloominess isn’t my favorite. I hope your weekend is sunny and happy, just like mine should be!

1. Last night Ron, Riley, Sawyer & I took a walk around our neighborhood. We did the whole penis-shaped lap (see picture here) and the cooler weather made the walk feel awesome. I toted Sawyer around in his Ergo carrier, and he loved it. He totally calmed down and just kinda zoned out while we took our time walking the neighborhood. I don’t know what it is about having kids that has made me love going for walks (maybe just the chance to get out of the house?!), but since Riley was born, walking has really worked to clear my mind.

 

Sawyer in his Mamaroo, not Ergo
 
2. Ron and I spent a good portion of the walk talking about improvements we would like to make on our house one day as well as cosmetic fixings that we could do sooner. My husband as always wanted a man cave, and he is going to start working on our bonus room soon. We also talked about painting the kitchen cabinets and adding a backsplash. Finally, now that summer is here, it’s painfully obvious that we need to make our yard pretty. There are tons of weeds (hey there giant patch of clovers in front of our house!) and no decoration around the trees or hedges. I’m excited to undertake the project (with the goal for it to look nice next summer!), but have no idea where to begin or what to do. Gardening, home maintenance and handiwork has never been a strong suit of mine, but I’m down to make it a hobby. Tips and advice appreciated!

3. I talked with my mother-in-law about my post earlier this week about my lack of grown-up friendships in our new hometown. She helped me to realize that putting myself out there, no matter how awkward, will really turn things around. When she first moved to a new town with 2 kids in NJ, her next-door neighbor was her closest friend because it was easy to introduce yourself and spend time together. The neighbors on both sides of me have young kids and although we’ve hung out with one of the families, I would love to get to know them better. I also reached out to a woman Riley and I met through my mother-in-law who has a daughter just a few weeks younger than Riley, and I’m taking the kids to the farmer’s market tomorrow for a meet-up with a mom’s group. Here’s to a summer of awkward, but new friendships!

4. My father-in-law and sister-in-law came over for dinner last night (mother-in-law is in NJ, lucky!), and Ron made the most amazing burgers . The recipe came from Rachael Ray’s burger cookbook, and I might be dreaming of them for a few weeks. They had a bacon and onion topping along with a delicious sauce made from ketchup and mayo and who knows what.  Ron has always been an awesome burger-maker, but since getting a grill this summer, he’s really amped up his game. Last night’s dinner is just another in a long line of success including the grilled cheese burger, caprese burger, and the pizza burger…which was more like a calzone burger wrapped and baked in pizza dough. He also makes a grilled chicken sandwich that’s out of this world!

  
5. Happy National Donut Day! Thanks to my husband’s smart decision to abstain, I did not run out to Dunkin this morning to get us some free donuts, but I will happily live vicariously through you! Someone eat a maple glazed for me (ohmygod so yummy!)

Leave a Reply

