Fun in Parenting

A little TMI for your Monday morning…

Can we talk about something that’s probably a little TMI for some of you out there? Birth control is stupid. It really is. I haven’t taken it in a few years due to pregnancy then migraines while breastfeeding then pregnancy, but I’m really not trying to have 3 kids under 3 and yet don’t want to rule out kids down the road. While at my 6-week post-partum check-up (lots of hyphens there), I discussed birth control options with my doctor. She was awesome and laid out specifics on each and every type of birth control. Birth control methods that release estrogen is a no-go for me because I’m breastfeeding Sawyer, and even the mini-pill, which I took briefly after having Riley, contributed to my migraines. After seeing a neurologist (for some reason I can never remember that word…I always want to say neurosurgeon), he recommended I try an alternate form of birth control to help with the pain of migraines. This time around, I didn’t want to try a pill for that reason as well as the unreliability factor (aka I’m forgetful) so I was looking into IUDs (Intrauterine Devices) and the implant, Nexplanon. Before leaving the office, I was given a dose of the birth control shot, Depo Provera. I can’t say I’m a big fan as of yet.

I also haven’t heard great things about IUDs. I’ve heard horror stories involving surgical removal as well as loss of fertility from all kinds of IUDs. I’ve also read (on various forums and discussion boards…terrible idea) about the crazy mood swings and screwed up menstrual cycles that go along with Mirena. The whole IUD idea scares me…it doesn’t seem natural to have something, even a little something, inserted THERE for that long (5-10 years depending on the brand!). On the other hand is the implant, Nexplanon (formerly Implanon), which is inserted into your arm and distributes hormones into your blood stream. Again, there’s the ick factor of ANYTHING being in your body that isn’t supposed to be, but for some reason I can get on board with a tiny stick of birth control in my arm. All birth control options (with the exception of the hormone-less IUD Paraguard) seem to contain super awesome symptoms including weight gain, moodswings, acne, screwy menstrual cycles, reduced sex drive and migraines. With all those possibilities, I can almost get on board with the 3 under 3 thing (I keed, I keed!).

 

Gotta love the disclaimer…”Not an actual patient”
 
This is kind of a lot to take in on a Monday morning, but all weekend I’ve felt depressed and angry, and just seven weeks after having Sawyer, my period has returned, something breast feeding moms don’t have to deal with for at least a few months. All of this thanks to my recent foray into birth control. If the past few days are any indication of the birth control journey awaiting me, I’m definitely not excited. I’m obviously leading toward Nexplanon, but am totally lost among the options. The handouts from the doctor’s office showing a girl push her guitar on a swing are about as helpful as tampon commercials with the girl jumping off the high dive. They’re all confusing and don’t really offer any legitimate advice. Any of you ladies out there have some advice here? Save me from the discussion boards, please!

Leave a Reply

