Attitude of Gratitude

An Attitude of Gratitude

I’m always on the hunt for what I can do to be happier, wake up fresher, instill organization and overall live a better life. One thing that seems to resonate across all of these aspirations is the practice of gratitude. Every article or blog post I click on that tells me how to be a better me includes creating a record of gratitude each day, whether by writing it down or speaking it out loud. It’s something I’ve tried to incorporate into my daily routine a couple of very similar ways to little success. You know what they say about doing the same thing but expecting different results? Yep.

img_2323

I finally came up with something I think would be a fun way to incorporate gratitude into my everyday life without creating extra work (scrapbooking gratitude? No.) and that is in my daily thought process and eyesight (that journal I write in that gets tucked into my nightstand drawer and I forget about for weeks or months at a time?). Where can I keep track of all the things I’m so grateful for in such an easy way, but ALSO keep me accountable? Instagram, people. I’m gonna do it for the ‘gram. (I am so cheesy lately.)

I already love using Instagram/Facebook as way to connect with others, keep my family and friends updated on my family, and now as a part of my blog, so it definitely made sense to social media to make my life better (instead of worse as most studies seem to show). I decided I will use Instagram (and then Facebook as they so conveniently connect) to post at least 1 thing I’m grateful for each day. I’ll try to do it each morning because everything I read about morning routines tells me this is how to start your day on a positive note and who doesn’t need that when your alarm clock goes off?

dsc_0366

Feel free to keep me accountable, but be easy on me. My mom brain isn’t what is used to be, and it’s likely a day will fly by without me even thinking about it! For today, I’m super thankful for my job and my clients. I had my annual review yesterday and it was positive. I have been employed with my company for a year now (before that I worked with them as a sub-contractor with my own business), and it’s been a while since I had a review. I was a little nervous as the call started, but super pumped and beyond excited to get great feedback from my account director. Working from home can be isolating and you don’t always get that teammate feeling via email so it definitely felt good to hear a good report. Beyond that, I’m just so thankful I get the opportunity to work from home each day and spent most of my time with my kids. It still feels like a (very difficult, but still amazing) dream come true.

sawyer-working
My assistant, Sawyer almost a year ago!

What are you thankful for today?

Leave a Reply

