Family Bonding

Bro-posal

Have you ever been “iced?” Years ago (pre-wedding, pre-baby, so when I had a life!), Ron and our friend Anthony had an epic Smirnoff Ice battle going on. If you’re unfamiliar with the game (if that’s what you’d call it), you hide a bottle of Smirnoff Ice (you know, that super sugary drink you used to feel cool chugging in high school) somewhere that your friend will just happen upon it. When they find it, they’re supposed to get down on one knee and chug it with the bottle raised high in the air. WELL. With this background in mind, a box arrived for Ron from Anthony last week. I put it to the side for him to open when he got home and kind of forgot about it. I was sitting at the dining room table when Ron walked in and started messing around in the kitchen. I figured he was making a snack, but then read this slip of paper out loud and said, “This doesn’t make any sense.”

me-and-ant-2
Just a little Linds and Ant flashback

We should have known, you guys. I made an inappropriately dirty joke (although considering Ron and Anthony’s bromantic history, you never can be sure) that Ron didn’t even respond to. He was fiddling with the box and I went back to my computer, when all of a sudden he yelled out. I got nervous, and was like, “What? What is it?!” And he held up the Smirnoff Ice bottle. Wrapped up in bubble wrap and newspaper was a shiny bottle of original lemon-lime flavored Smirnoff Ice, shipped all the way from New Jersey. HE GOT RON SO GOOD!

2-dads
Riley and her 2 dads at her first Yankees game

Ron had to work a basketball game that night so he wasn’t able to immediately respond to the challenge to post a video of him being “iced” online, and he can’t really do that anyway due to work, so he responded with this video later on that day.

 


I don’t think she minded the “icing” as much as her dad did!

ant-and-riley

Ant, thanks for the blast from the past and for being an amazing friend all these years. I loved looking back through our pictures to find the few included here. I could have put in a million more! We love you, and we’re so excited for you and Jackie! Cheers! (or Ice!)

group
Ant’s birthday dinner over 3 years ago!
screenshot-15
Probably my favorite picture from Frank & Lindsay’s wedding last year!
screenshot-16
Last one I swear – I just love this one of Riley and her Godfather!
One thought on “Bro-posal

Leave a Reply

