Sawyer Odin

The Friday Faves – SAWYER is *Almost* TWO!

I know I’ve been super MIA lately, and I hope to rectify that in coming weeks. I feel like I’ve been coming back to life after Ron being at training for almost 2 weeks straight and then having company and then sickness in our house. Anyway, more about that all next week. Right now I want to tell you about SAWYER.

 

My baby boy turns 2 tomorrow. TWO. I know that’s not that many years, but it seems impossible that it’s been just about 2 years since he come into our lives. It’s funny because it was a semi-surprise (maybe also a TMI story for another day), and I battled with having another baby so soon after Riley was born (19 months) and with finding out we were pregnant before Ron was officially hired at his current job AND before buying our own house (we were still living with Mimi and Peepop at the time). Yet Sawyer was exactly what our family needed, and he fits in so seamlessly and fills me with so much life, it’s hard to remember what life was like, or imagine what it would be like, without him. It’s so hard to convey (especially via internet) what Sawyer is like, and if you met him, you wouldn’t be able to tell for at least a few days anyway. He is extremely cautious around new people and usually won’t even look at them for a while. He takes a little bit to warm up to strangers, and clearly has his own mind. He very clearly will tell you no when asking for a kiss if he doesn’t want to, or, taking the opposite stance, attack you with love when he is so inclined. His laugh is extremely infectious; I can’t help but laugh when I see his chubby cheeks break out into a grin and his giggles are literal music to my ears. He follows EVERYTHING his sister does, to the point where if Riley does something she knows she’s not supposed to, I barely have a word out to say “Now Sawyer is going to copy you” before he’s mimicking her. He can play on his own for long periods of time, but especially loves to play with his sister, and their favorite toys usually include figurines (they have multiple kinds – Tinkerbell, Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, Bubble Guppies, superheroes, Disney princesses, etc.) or my old dolls and one of the 3 dollhouses they have to play with. I better get on with my 5 things before this turns into a novel so here goes:

  1. Sawyer was a master eater from the get-go. I had a lot of trouble breastfeeding Riley in the very beginning, and it took months for she and I to get into the swing of things. With Sawyer, it was immediate. He took to breastfeeding so seamlessly that it was hard to imagine he ever DIDN’T know how. I appreciated that immensely as a mom with a toddler on the move and would often feed Sawyer while chasing Riley, grabbing toys or remote controls or moving seats. With Riley, I could barely move an inch to grab my phone. Also a big difference between the two – I actively decided to wean Sawyer (which he did great with which I wasn’t expecting) at a year, while my supply kind of dried up and Riley lost interest right around the same time when she was about 11 months old. Also, besides having to supplement with formula for the month before her birthday, I didn’t especially miss the pumping and trying to get Riley to nurse while I was home. She would still lay with me at night before bed and that was my favorite part of our nursing sessions anyway. After the initial “Woo my body is mine again!” feelings I had after weaning Sawyer ( I had been pregnant/nursing/pregnant/nursing for over 3 years), I really missed that time with him. It really can be a true bonding experience, and I missed the uninterrupted one-on-one time we shared there. 
  2. One of my favorite (and later on not so favorite) routines with Sawyer was how I used to bring him back to bed with me when he woke up in the middle of the night. I think I saved my sanity with this because I was still working and taking care of a not-quite 2 year old Riley, and it definitely increased the sleep I got. I WILL say it was not the safest method of sleeping and if or when I have another baby, I will get one of those cots that attach to the bed to put the baby in while sleeping in the middle of the night. Also, it was extremely hard to break Sawyer of the habit of sleeping with me when he woke up in the middle of the night, so there’s that. Regardless of those two huge cons, I LOVED having my snuggly boy with me in those wee hours of the morning. Instead of using every (non-useful) trick in the book to switch him from milk drunk at the boob to passed out in bed only to end up with a crying baby back in the recliner, I got to cuddle up to my little man and drift back to sleep with him. There are some nights or early mornings when he still wakes up and I let him lay with me in bed that remind me of those early days. Whenever he cuddles with me, it absolutely makes my day. 
  3. I should have seen the obsession coming when he got his first pair of shoes. He started walking at about 10.5/11 months old so Mimi and Peepop bought him his first pair of Stride Rite shoes a few weeks before his first birthday. We got them at an outlet in Myrtle Beach while there right after Easter, and Sawyer had the biggest smile and loved to try to take them off and put them on in the hotel room. It was adorable (and very telling) of his love of shoes to come. Sawyer now has 7 pairs of shoes that fit him which might be more than I own. Ron got him his first pair of Jordans for Christmas as well as a pair of light-up Captain America sneakers. At his birthday party last weekend, Ron also gave him a pair of Batman light-up sneakers (he also loves Batman) and Aunt Jamie and Jesse gave him a very cool pair of boat shoes as well as flip-flops. Don’t tell him, but I think Aunt Jen is also giving him a pair of shoes on his actual birthday tomorrow! I would say this is beyond excess for a 2 year old, but he LOVES them. He is constantly asking, “Shoes? Shoes?” and putting them on and taking them off and switching shoes and then taking them off again. They aren’t just shoes for Sawyer, but his favorite toy as well. 
  4. Sawyer is a mama’s boy through and through, but he is starting to want Dada instead every now and then, and yes, it does break my heart even while making me super happy as well. Sawyer has ALWAYS been a mama’s boy which we attribute to both the boob milk and my working from home for almost all of his life (I went back to Starbucks for all of a month MAYBE before beginning to work from home full time) which meant he was almost NEVER away from me. This is actually kind of funny because I left him for a full weekend twice before he was even 5 months old, but other than that, it was all Mama all the time. I love his wet little kisses and tight hugs, but the very very best is when I walk in the door from going to the store or to pick him up after a date night and he comes running down the hallway to me (Mimi and Peepop have a super long hallway that is especially good for this) before smacking me hard in the chest and wrapping me in a bear hug. He also still gives hugs by wrapping his arms around the outside of your upper arms instead of around your neck, and I LOVE IT. 
  5. I mentioned it earlier, but Sawyer is obsessed with his big sister. He wants to do everything she does and be near her at all times. If he wakes up in the morning or from a nap first, his very first words are “Ra-ra?” (Riley) and he wants to wake her up immediately. He follows her everywhere, copies her every move, and always wants to do what she does, eat what she eats, play with whatever she is playing with (cue the toddler frustration). I know as a big sister this is annoying, but as a mom it is the sweetest show to watch my kids act out. I love the way they play together and pretend together. I love how Sawyer hugs Riley tight each night before bed and brings her toys or listens to her if she asks for something. They both love bubble baths and spend bath time giving each other bubble beards or playing with rubber ducks in the water. They also share a DEEP love for Bubble Guppies as well as Moana (even though it seems to be more of Sawyer’s favorite lately), but his first TV love was definitely Mickey Mouse Clubhouse and specifically the Hotdog Song. I loved watching him and Riley jump up and dance together to the Hotdog song and while we kind of stopped watching it when we changed our cable situation (maybe I should talk about this later, too?), I now love to watch him copy Riley’s dance moved to her recital song from Moana. 

I could seriously go on forever talking about my little dude, my buddy (Riley calls him buddy non-stop and it melts my heart) and give you every tiny detail of him (I still might next week), but now it’s late and I need to sleep as my husband is always reminding me.


Sawyer, I know you can’t read this, but I love you more than I can ever say because there are no words big enough to encompass my feelings. I hope you are happy more than you’re sad, right more than you’re wrong (except when you’re talking to me), and always have a hunger for knowledge (even if it is the same damn ABC book every time) even if it comes with a hunger for food which might require me to get a second job. I’ll always be your #1 fan, with Dada and RaRa a close 2nd and 3rd. Happy birthday, baby boyer.

Leave a Reply

