Virtual Book Shelf

21 down, 29 to go!

Not gonna lie, I kind of thought I would be down this month. We had a busy time with a visit from NJ friends (Hi Bee and Alyson!), Sawyer’s bithday, Easter, and my birthday. Somehow I still managed to eke out 5 books somehow. I’m excited for May because I have a few new books to read (thanks, Mom!) and about 4 of my library holds came threw all at once. Hopefully I get to read them all!

  1. Out to Lunch by Stacey Ballis                                                                                                                   Out to Lunch                                                                                                                                                    I’ve been a fan of Stacey Ballis since college-era days when I started reading her blog, The Polymath Chronicles. Technically I’ve read it once before, but I barely remembered it, and I had to include it in this list because I loved it, and it left me feeling a bit listless and un-wanting to read anything else. I even asked for another one of her books for my birthday because of it. In the book, the main character, Jenna has lost her best friend and business partner, and through her will, has gained responsibility of best friend Aimee’s husband. We get to see Jenna try to deal with her loss while contending with the challenges she faces with Wayne, Aimee’s uncouth, but loving husband. It is a great book about friendship and a good read for anyone, but especially those who have experienced the loss of someone close to them. Possibly the best thing about Stacey Ballis’ books? The INSANE food descriptions. Maybe don’t read it while on a diet like I did…my stomach is grumbling just thinking about it. Luckily she includes basically an entire cookbook of recipes she discusses at the end – 2 books in one!
  2.  Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult                                                                                                          small great things                                                                                                                                                          If you haven’t noticed yet, I really love me some Jodi Picoult. She deals with tough situations so well, and in this book she tackled modern-day racism in a way I couldn’t believe possible. Some of the scenes are a bit graphic, and I was telling my friend Stephanie about the slightly controversial book I was reading when we realized that we were both almost EXACTLY at the same point of the book. Freaky, people! As most of Jodi Picoult’s books are, this one is split between 3 different POV’s: Ruth, a Black labor and delivery nurse, Turk, a white supremacist in the hospital with his wife and their newborn son, and Kennedy, a white public defender. With a demand that no Black personnel touch their son, the 3 main characters are thrust into a legal battle that goes beyond the court room and questions what is most important: taking care of yourself and your family or having your voice heard?
  3. Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick                                                                                                                                                                          scrappy little nobody                                                                                                                                                          This book popped up as a referral when I read Lauren Graham’s book, and I’m so glad I added it to my holds list on Overdrive! I’ve liked Anna Kendrick since Pitch Perfect came out, but didn’t know much about her. Turns out she is hilarious and completely down-to-Earth, and I kind of wish we could be best friends. She talks about her start in show biz taking the train from Maine to NYC for auditions, living on scraps in LA while shooting movies and make less than her stylist, and finally what it’s like to try to be a regular person amidst the fame. Definitely read this book – I kept telling Ron random facts about Anna Kendrick and telling him to read it. I also have a slew of Anna Kendrick movies to watch that I didn’t even know about before! (Good job, Anna!)
  4.  Shopaholic to the Rescue by Sophie Kinsella                                                                                                                                                                 Shopaholic to the Rescue                                                                                                                                                          I love the Shopaholic books. They are funny, endearing, and totally make you feel better about any financial snafus you’ve ever had in your life. It’s fun to read along about the high end designers Becky, the main character, loves, but even better are her crazy antics and amazing cast of family and friends. I would recommend starting from the beginning if you’ve never read one, but this one specifically has to do with Becky and her family and friends searching for her father and her best friend’s husband on a wild goose chase around Las Vegas and the western US. I can’t say enough good things about these adorable books. They are such great heart-warming reads and always good for a mood boost. Also, all the characters are from England so everything they do and so is that much better.
  5. Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter                                                                                                               pretty girls                                                                                                                                                          So this book is seriously disturbing, but at the same time, I couldn’t put it down. It is definitely not one for someone with a weak stomach, and don’t read it at night if you scare easily. The book follows two main characters, Claire and Lydia, estranged sisters who have experienced tremendous heartbreak: an older sister who went missing 20 years ago and a father who committed suicide after dedicating the remaining years of his life to finding our what happened to her. In a crazy twist of cirumstances, they team up after Claire’s billionaire husband dies, and she uncovers some of his secrets at the same time a teenage girl goes missing. I can’t tell you how twisted this book gets, but if you’re a fan of thrillers like Gone Girl, you’ll be sucked in like I was.
Leave a Reply

